remove ad
Newest Entry | Older Entries | Diaryland.com

05.09.07 - 5:02 pm

me: do you think your grandparents would mind watching ashton this weekend for me?

her: im not going to ask them my grandpa is in texas cause his mom is dying, and my grandma is watching him all week while i work.

me: ok, so then...why dont i take him until friday, and give her a break until this weekend...?

her: jordan no i havent spent time with ashton in over a week!

me: well, take this weekend off...spend some time with him, and let me go somewhere for two days.

her: i would really like to stick to our original schedule and have him until friday.

me: im sure you would, but youve also been gone nearly twenty days in the last two months. i would like to request a mere two.

her: jordan. stop. find a sitter i guess. weve already discussed this weekend. maybe you can do something next weekend.

me: i love how whenever you want to do something, i just nod and say ok. but when i want something its always not convenient for you.

her: you do it in such an inconvenient manner. im trying to stick to schedule. and already im saying take ashton for only two days this week cause ive been gone.

me: i know, but come on, would it be so hard on you if i took him a bit early, so that i could do something for me? how doesnt that help us both out.

her: because this week is my time. the weekend is yours. you have all week to do something for you. and find a sitter.

me: no, i dont have all week. thats why im willing to forfeit it. and there are no sitters for weekends except stay at home grandmothers.

her: jordan. not this week please. it will be easier when my grandpa comes back home.

me: do you even work this weekend?

her: yeah of course i do.

me: its going to be far easier for you to request those days off than for me to find a two day sitter.

her: i havent worked in over a week jordan. im sorry. its not going to work like that this week.


this is frustrating for a number of reasons:
1) i am completely certain she is doing something this weekend, and having a child around would hamper and ruin these plans of hers.
2) sarah is a convenience mother. its when it suits her that she gloats of motherhood. i know of countless times when she boasts and whines about missing ashton so incredibly much, but then falls through on demonstrating such feelings. for example, her return from cancun. she was to land saturday night, and that afternoon claimed she missed ashton so much that she was picking him up sunday morning so she could spend the day with him, instead of having my mom watch him. but sure enough, when i didnt hear from her after she had landed, i let her know i assumed she would just pick him up at 5 pm on sunday, and she said ok. i was not surprised by this. she does similar things frequently. and its not that shes too tired or some other excusable reason. typically, its her social life she is enhancing instead.
3) what is this maybe you can do something next weekend bullshit? how condescending does that sound. that was one of the pros of her living with her grandparents, that they would watch ashton whenever. it was an obvious excuse. with me offering to take him during the week so that she would only have to watch him this weekend, and her subsequent refusal of this offer, i mean come on. and dont placate me like im some kid asking his mom for a new bicycle.

anyways. fine. no seattle this week. its mothers day on sunday. maybe next weekend.

previous - next
Profile