remove ad
Newest Entry | Older Entries | Diaryland.com

07.11.08 - 8:57 am

i was 26 when i got allergies.

i am continually impressed with my bodys ability to produce fluid in my nasal cavity. so much pours from my nostrils on a daily basis i cant help but appreciate the way in which my body attempts to defend itself from outside pollens, dander and other foreign allergens. in contrast to that, in the mornings and evenings, my nasal cavities will seize up with this same fluid and refuse to let even oxygen into my lungs.

afrin has been the best method of attack against myself. naturally, such an effective product would also be highly addictive and internally damaging. im not about to let the fear of addiction stop me from using it, although i have set up precautionary measures to prevent such a problem.

then its the itchy eyes. they burn. they need to be touched, but the more they are, the more they demand attention. its a struggle just to keep my hands to myself. the sneezing attacks are equally as offensive. they fill my eyes with tears, cause my face to crunch up in a pre-sneeze contortion, for several moments before an actual sneeze occurs. and of course, when i do finally release, a gift basket of snot follows. this in turn repeats itself over and over. these attacks are unexpected, come out of nowhere and disappear as bizarrely as they arrived.

the over the counter pills have remained largely ineffective in combating whatever it is that suddenly is striking down my immune system after 26 years of immunity. so bold was i, such a braggert in boasting of the impenetrable nature of my immune system. i never would get sick. i couldnt get sick. even when those i was close to lay dying at the iron grip of plague, my body remained steadfast. healthy. proud.

but as tyler put it:

he who crows most, eats most crow.

previous - next
Profile