remove ad
Newest Entry | Older Entries | Diaryland.com

11.24.10 - 8:36 am

the cough has progressed rapidly. my stomach muscles burn. my ribs are sore. for some reason the tip of my tongue grates against my lower teeth with every series of convulsions. while yesterday was dry and unproductive, today will be heavy and gross. im hoping it will be rendered merely a residual shadow of its violent form for tomorrow.

the bubons. so ive heard it referred to.

sunday morning i woke with a terribly uncomfortable sore throat. i figured, as intoxicated as i had been the night before, perhaps i simply slept with my mouth open.

all throughout work it didnt subside.

sunday night it was unpleasant enough to restrict my communication ability. every swallow was dreaded. i sat on the corner of the couch, immobile, unresponsive. just trying to get through it without making it worse.

by monday evening the sore throat has dissipated to tolerable levels, thank god. as it died however, it held the door open for nasal congestion. a welcomed guest in place of actual discomfort. trailing immediately behind were the first hints of a cough. the simple, easy to dismiss variety. the calm sea before the storm surge.

so here i am wednesday morning. unsuitable for public viewing. snorting. swallowing. doubling over with every cough like im trying to dislodge my lungs from my chest. it feels productive. im getting shit out of there, and where it belongs: my digestive system.

i maintain that this is the first illness that has claimed me this year. i dont recall any others except the allergies earlier this summer. and for that i dont mind being diseased. but im ready. ready to give it to someone else and be done.

we had a good run disease. we had a good run.

previous - next
Profile