remove ad
Newest Entry | Older Entries | Diaryland.com

08.23.02 - 2:16 am

i patiently waited outside the office door, its slightly ajar and i can hear the soft murmurs of hushed conversation. i cant pick out words, but i stand with my back turned, being respectful and gentleman like. the door finally opened when the conversation inside became more casual and one manager left, leaving just me versus wesley. he glanced timidly toward me, and almost opened his mouth, but before any air could escape his lips a request was made for aquatics assistance. he slightly nodded his head, and motioned for me to help, to do my job. i informed a young girl and her mother that crawdads will love to eat the following: hot dogs, earthworms, cat food, dead fish. the little girl wanted her crawdad to be a vegetarian. it doesnt work that way, skag. i patted her on the back and sent her off with a popsicle.

i returned to the office warily. i kept my eyes low, my hands in my pockets and my breathing restrained. i was tense. the moment was intense. i needed some inscents to wrap around my cardboard picket fence. but since all i had were 50 cents, it didnt make sense to have a rock so dense, hence the lack of elements from my parents and all their dusty vents.

i stepped into the office, my fate unclear, my feet shifting in anticipation of the words i was so certain would end my career. but wesleys eyes lit up. he smiled. he SMILED. he said, "ok ok its not that bad!" he kept asking me over and over again if i was ok. he was concerned. he said i only had three points, and not four. oh the dreaded four. had i had four, that would have been it. i would have been seperated. not fired. not canned. but seperated.

nathan, brian and bryce went to fred meyer one day looking for me, when we were all young men and i had been an employee there. they didnt know that i had been fired yet, so when they went in, they casually asked if i was working. someone said that i didnt work there any more and that i had been fired. bryce retorted, "what?! they shot him?!?!"

so i still have a job. i still work at petco. and yes wesley, im ok. im ok now that is. i have until the 12th of september. if i can go that long without getting any more points, i will continue to get checks with petco stamped on the top. i work tomorrow. i work 5pm to 10pm. i am glad.

previous - next
Profile