remove ad
Newest Entry | Older Entries | Diaryland.com

01.13.03 - 11:34 am

December 13th, 2002

my eyes are blood shot. hair is poking through my face. i have bits and pieces of things in my sticky hair. my throat is dry. my nose is empty. at 28,000 feet, traveling at roughly 519 mph.

where i was, its very early in the morning. where im headed, 688 miles yet to go, its 10:00 pm.

ive been on an airplane since 10 am....yesterday. im having feelings of doubt, considering the pros and cons of a 20 hour plane flight, and hoping that the eventual adventure awaiting exit of the plane will make up for all the time spent in this aisle seat of discomfort. i really feel uncomfortable putting my seat back, for fear of angering those behind me. i feel ashamed when my father does it so fast and nonchalantly; i find myself doing it slowly, almost trying to fool the people behind me that im not even lowering my seat at all....

my father just woke up, as did the flourescent lights everywhere else. for some reason the flight attendants turned a dark, silent and peaceful plane into a sneezing, coughing, conversation filled cabin complete with a symphony of opening plastic bags.

im very needy of some rest. i sat through road to perdition and reign of fire. the coffee im drinking is liquid sawdust with an after taste of gravel.

im excited, anxious and apprehensive. id love to use a telephone to pass the time. its 7 am in portland, and id love to wake someone up and tell them where i am, but right now i think im more interested in seeing water go the other direction down a toilet in a few hours.

previous - next
Profile