remove ad
Newest Entry | Older Entries | Diaryland.com

05.25.05 - 2:06 am

To whom it may concern,
My name is Jordan Noe and I am a student at Oregon State University. I have been a student since September of 2001 and since then have accomplished nearly 11 terms without an interruption of credits. During the winter and spring term of 2004-2005 however, I ran into some problems involving childcare. This made it exceedingly difficult to try to attend enough classes, work and take care of my one-year-old son. During my winter term of 2004, I had 12 credits, but due to circumstances out of my control, I was forced to miss some important classes, which put me at a disadvantage I couldn�t recover from. Unfortunately, I dropped the class leaving me only 9 credits for the term. Spring term of 2005 I had optimistically signed up for 15 credits to try to balance myself out for an average of 12 credits for the year. But working, watching my son and attempting 15 credits to balance out my average put too much strain on my performance and I had to drop out of some classes in order to focus and do well overall. I had thought it would be possible to tackle this many classes in spite of my responsibilities outside of my education, but it proved too difficult. This ended my eligibility for financial aid, as it made me unable to complete the 36 credits for the year.
I am just a term or two away from completing all the requirements of my psychology major, and preparing for graduation from the university. My remaining classes for my stay at the university have been planned out, and outside of school, childcare arrangements have been created to prevent instances such as this from occurring again.
I am on my way to graduating next year. This next year I will be able to complete, at the least, 12 credits a term, and the problems encountered during the last two terms will not happen again. My financial aid is vital to my completion of my degree, and I am confident I can complete my remaining requirements without any further problems interrupting the needs of my financial aid eligibility.
Please forgive the problems encountered in these last two terms, as they were not representative of my entire career as a student, and the problems that caused my failure to complete 36 credits a year have been corrected. I would sincerely appreciate the privilege of finishing my last year at the university, and hope that I can prove how isolated these two terms were.


Thank you very much for your time.

Sincerely,
Jordan Noe

previous - next
Profile