remove ad
Newest Entry | Older Entries | Diaryland.com

04.18.07 - 11:43 pm

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

for most people, this image is too abstract to hold any sort of recognizable information. there is nothing to reference it to in order to appreciate its content. but its images like this that instantly fire up my imagination. it is images like this that allow me to travel backwards in time and be apart of things i only see on tv screens and newspapers.

and when it does, it happens in slow motion. in warm colors and with the help of hans zimmers chevaliers de sangreal playing over the loud speakers in my head.

i step outside the glass and aluminum doors, the air abruptly cool to my skin. i cover my squinted eyes in the glare of a brightly lit early morning. people walk carelessly around me, their steps slow and with purpose. some talk silently on their cell phones. others hold on to their morning newspaper. i scan the parking lot, watching cars creep by. gradually everything fades to grays and whites, and amongst the semi trucks and minivans, the sedans and pick up trucks, a distinctly bright yellow moving van navigates the parking lot infront of me. i feel the air billow around me as it passes and turn to follow it with my eyes. one simple yellow ryder van. like so many others. but unlike all of them on this particular day. in just a few more moments ill open my eyes and shake the glass shards off my face. ill stand up covered in dust and smoke residue. ill hear screams. hundreds of them amongst the wailing symphony of car alarms.

and some 169 people will have just died.

previous - next
Profile