remove ad
Newest Entry | Older Entries | Diaryland.com

07.28.08 - 7:51 am

my dream started as i searched oregon city for some community college where i was going to meet michael spear. they were having a special showing of some movie there. but then i ended up meeting brian kinney instead, and he convinced me that a movie would look far better on the movie screen in his basement. so i google mapped his house from the computers at the college library, searching the kinney residence. oregon city had a little dense populated area as i zoomed out, surrounded by empty, arid land for miles. but off to the northeast, a swath of blue appeared. turquoise blue.

someone had built a massive pool resort just outside oregon city. surrounded by miles of desert and fields and nothing. it was a single large structure, with a massive ocean sized pool. sandy islands dotted the insides of this pool. it was incredible. it was beautiful. and then i heard the seagulls.

the walls of computer screen had disappeared, and suddenly a light hazing of clouds obscured my view of the turquoise waters. solid white seagulls were flying in a small flock to my right. and thus, i was flew.

from there i zipped to portland, or somewhere familiar. i met two friends. faceless friends. i think, midconversation, id suddenly leap upwards and disappear far above them, only to come right back down. mocking their inability for atmospheric flight. then i flew downtown to my moms work. she had a balcony entrance, so i took it. i told the guy my name through the bullet proof glass of the waiting room. my mom was talking to my step father amidst the bustle of cubicles and computers and people walking with purpose. mike was dressed in rock climbing gear, ropes slung over his shoulders. when my mom came to say hi to me, she informed me she was really busy, so i said id go climb with mike instead.
mike was going to repel down the side of the police bureau. elevators just wouldnt do today. so i pretended to climb down with him, acting like i was struggling to hold on to the narrowest of fingerholds. ropeless of course, fourteen floors above concrete and completely acceptable to my step father. i finally admitted that i could fly and asked if he wanted a lift down, to which he declined. so i showed him what i could do. over and over i would shoot up into the atmosphere, often with a bizarre pose, and return again. i was very proud of this ability. i told him i had to start wearing bullet proof vests, because the military was on to me and i didnt want to be struck by a invisible jet traveling at sonic speeds. i remember seeing a B52 way up there, higher than i felt comfortable going. it was impressive in its size. i kept to the low altitudes for fear of being struck by aircraft since i flew so brazenly fast and erratically.

and then i woke up to hear someone on the wood porch outfront. i sat there with my eyes open, listening to the creaking boards. what the hell was someone doing on our porch this early in the morning? should i alert julies family? i looked around my room and saw nothing familiar about the walls or ceiling. just where the hell was i? i wasnt in a cabin, so why was i hearing someone on a deck? i wasnt camping anymore though, was i home? jesus, this is bizarre, i thought.

and like a rush of warm water, the familiarity of my room surged back to replace the haze of incoherence. i was in my bed. in my apartment. back in portland. it was probably 530 am. russell was leaving for work, his bicycle in tow.

i promptly went back to a dreamless sleep.

previous - next
Profile