remove ad
Newest Entry | Older Entries | Diaryland.com

02.12.10 - 10:38 am

RESEARCH LAB ASSISTANT

Hi Jordan,
Thanks for checking in with me again. I enjoyed meeting you the other day and it seems that your skills and disposition are perfect for the job. You also come with good references (Camie and Ian). At this point I am still waiting for the internal paperwork at PSU to get taken care of so that I can officially spend the grant money. I am hoping that this will get taken care of in the next couple of days. In order to process the paperwork and consider you for the position I will need an updated resume with references listed to verify prior employment and job performance. It looks like the best way to proceed once the grant spending is approved and references are checked is to hire you initially as a temporary employee for the first 6 months - this simplifies the paperwork and will allow us to start you right away rather than waiting for several weeks and it allows for an evaluation period for both you and myself to make sure that we are both happy with the job etc. Here are the details of the position as defined by the state of Oregon:

Laboratory Animal Technician I. The starting pay is $11.47/hr. This is step 3 (of 9) of the pay scale for this position. This amount can be renegotiated after the 6 month temporary period is over.

If all of this sounds acceptable to you please give some thought to what your schedule might be for working 20 hrs per week and when you would be able to start. As we discussed you can have some flexibility in your schedule from day to day, but it will be best for everyone if we know when you are working on each day. I look forward to hearing back from you soon with the updated resume.

Cheers! Jason


---------------

Hello again Jason!
I have been going over and giving the position some serious thought since our last email; I am very interested in the position, but I have a few apprehensions and concerns I would like some clarification on before I can accept. First and foremost, the starting wage. I do realize that you don't have complete control over this number, but I would like to know how much flexibility you have. I currently make more than 11.47 an hour at my other part time job, and i dont have to pay for parking. I'd really like to accept this position, and hope that we can work out an equitable solution for the both of us. Can you work with me on any of these following points:

Wage - start me off at a level 4 wage instead of a level 3?
Parking - How does parking work for employees? Can this be included in my salary?
Transition Period - Can this be a three month transition instead of six?
Growth - After the 6 month period do you expect the position to become full-time? What wage increases could I expect, as well as potential health and other benefits?
Other - what options become available as an employee of PSU for discounted tuition?

Thanks Jason for your help with this. If you would prefer, you can call me this evening after seven, if that's not too late. Or if you would prefer this afternoon, please let me know what time you will be available, and I can contact you then.

Jordan

previous - next
Profile