Newest Entry | Older Entries | Diaryland.com

11.24.13 - 4:01 pm

florida. i never thought i would ever want to live there. the few times i visited though, it had all the qualities of a place i could live: beaches. warm oceans. diving. humidity. carnivorous plants. swamps. snakes. lizards. manatees. sea turtles. ok, so most of that list is based on animals i would like to see regularly wandering through my front yard. however, when it came to the quality of life for the state�s citizens, it left much to be desired. lots of old people. lots of ignorant people. lots of old ignorant people. lots of poor people.

and then plenty of hurricanes to worry about.

but after spending an extended weekend in the town of vero beach and experiencing 85 degrees of sunshine in the middle of november, florida was becoming increasingly more persuasive. sure i would have to deal with a median age of 50 years old for my neighbors, and yes i might lose my son to the jaws of an alligator, but they have cheap houses. and lovely freeways.

unfortunately, the job that i thought i was flying down to accept turned out to be much more ambiguous and confusing. i didn�t leave with a proposal. i didn�t leave feeling more secure and optimistic. and that disappointed me.

it disappointed me further that after i sent a quick follow up thank you email upon my return, my response continued on that thread of ambiguity:

Hi Jordan,

We mailed your check today.� I am still working out the details on the position, I should have more info for you soon.


why did he use those words? why not �we are working out the details of your proposal�.�? i think i need to continue my job search. and promptly.

previous - next
Profile