remove ad
Newest Entry | Older Entries | Diaryland.com

01.19.05 - 3:47 pm

motherfucker.

as i told russell, here too, i shall share my series of unfortunate events.

i was riding my bike along side my friend melissa, immediately following class. normally we would travel the parking lots trying to locate her car. we would talk of psychology and running and her work with little kids.
well today, while she discussed her emotionally absent and abusive boyfriends opinions on her running and attempted weight loss, he shows up, cutting her off in midsentence. this leaves an air of awkwardness as hes exceptionally jealous and possessive and melissa has to become hyperplatonic in order to even associate with me in his presence. this was also the first time id ever met this guy. he didnt introduce himself, and worrying about his response, i didnt feel the need to introduce myself to him either. eventually the awkwardness of his being there started to become obviously apparent, and i decided to leave. i said my goodbye and that id see her on friday for the test.
so i rode away, about 50 feet at the most. since her and i werent going to be talking as we usually do, i decided to pull out my ipod from my jacket pocket and listen to it while i rode home. i tried to steady myself and use my hands while i peddled only to find, i was not as skilled as i had been in the past. the ipod fell to the ground and i continued until i could make a safe and slow stop. the ipod stared back at me, face down on the cement. good thing i have that rubber case, makes it indestructable. so i fumbled my bike back into the opposite direction and made just a few short steps back toward my falllen comrade when suddenly a huge ominous truck is slowly creeping toward me. i have just enough time to look at the truck and then at the tires crushing the gravel under its immense weight.

"the tires will miss my ipod."
"if i shout stop, the truck will just end up stopping on my ipod."

the two brief thoughts i was able to have before the tire obliterated my ipod. it moaned a sickening crunch. and then it was done.

the truck left, and i stood in complete shock. did that really happen? why was that truck coming down that road at that particular moment in time? why did chris suddenly have to appear and cause me to leave in uncomfortable silence? why did i suddenly feel the need to listen to my ipod just then? what the fuck.

i still have to look at my ipod and the tire tracks on the protective rubber case to believe it really happened.

what.
the.
fuck.

previous - next
Profile