remove ad
Newest Entry | Older Entries | Diaryland.com

03.13.09 - 9:56 pm

the air conditioning for this hospital room is operated by removing a wad of towel from a circular hole in the window pane.

its only 10 pm on a friday evening, but ill probably be asleep soon because of how early theyre going to wake me up. and because ill be starving soon and its better to be asleep than to crave food ill be unable to eat.

five thirty am. theyll come in, turn the lights on and give me just a few minutes to collect myself before they shove a huge needle into my forearm. a slender rubber tube will be forced into my vein, theyll tape some plastic valve down and plug in an IV and tell me i can go back to sleep for a bit.

breakfast is at 8. itll be a heaping portion ill have only 30 minutes to consume before they take it away and drain out more blood.

by six o clock pm, my veins will be collapsing. to the extent that when they pull back on their syringes ill feel it deep inside my arm. unpleasant. likewise, the after draw flush is equally uncomfortable. you can feel the cold of the saline coursing upward through the middle of your arm. for only ever experiencing coolness on the surface of my skin, to feel it on the inside is exceptionally unnerving.

i brought young guns 2, hellboy 2 and schindlers list to watch. for reading material i have a brief history of time and a science magazine detailing naked singularities.

and erin griswolds mom is my nurse. shes a hoot.

previous - next
Profile